If you use a Windows computer, you might already know about the delete function which can not only delete characters while typing, but the same can also be used to delete files and folders or directories from your file system. But each time you delete some files or folder from your file system, it doesn’t get deleted completely. It first goes to the Recycle Bin within Windows 10/8/7…, and you have to delete it from the Recycle Bin to remove it completely from your system. Yes, even after deleting the files from your Bin all the files and not getting deleted physically from the hard drive.
However, according to most people, deleting the files from the Recycle Bin means, it is completely gone, as there is no guarantee, you can recover the files after it is deleted from the Bin, even if you have some specialized software tools. As the files logically remain in the Recycle Bin after it is deleted from the file system, it is not deleted from the hard drive as well, and that’s why as long as in the files are in the Bin, you are not getting back any space on your hard drive. So you can disable the Recycle Bin on your Windows computer or make the files deleted right away without moving them keeping them on the disk.
So without any further delay, let’s get started with how you can delete files from your Windows computer directly without moving them to the Windows Bin or disable it altogether.
Bypass Recycle bin in Windows 10 or 7
Just select all the files and folders that you want to delete. Now, instead of using the ‘Delete’ button on the keyboard, use the ‘Shift + Delete’ key combination on your keyboard.
You will instantly get a warning that basically says, the file will be permanently deleted, and whether you want to continue.
Just hit the ‘Enter’, or click on ‘Yes’ to delete the file or ‘Esc’ or ‘No’, if you have changed your mind.
⇒Direct delete without recycle bin shortcut key is Shift+Del key.
Alternatively, you can right-click on the selection, and then instead of clicking on the ‘Delete’ option directly, press the ‘Shift’ key on your keyboard and hit the ‘Delete’ button on the right-click context menu.
Now, again, you will get the same warning. Just use the ‘Enter’ key or click on ‘Yes’ to delete the element(s) permanently, without moving them to the Bin.
Note that if you delete the files and folders on your Windows computer normally, and it moves to the Bin, you can use the ‘Ctrl + Z’ hotkey or right-click anywhere, and click on ‘Undo Delete’. That will undo the delete action, and you can get the element(s) back at its default location on your file system.
Caution: If you ask me “What happens when a file is deleted without going to the recycle bin“. So, the answer is you will not get it back. Yes, you heard right, if you are deleting files directly without moving them to the Recycle Bin, the ‘Undo Delete’ or the ‘Ctrl + Z’ is not going to work.
Disabling the Recycle Bin on Windows
Let’s now have a look at, how you can disable the Recycle Bin altogether, or disable it for certain drives on your Windows computer.
Right-click on the ‘Recycle Bin’ icon on the desktop, and click on ‘Properties’.
Here, you can disable it for individual drives, or set the limit the WIndows Bin usage for the individual drives.
By default, the size of the Recycle Bin is 5-6% of the size of the drive. It means if you keep deleting files, and the size of the deleted files from one drive exceeds 5-6% or the size of bin for that drive, the files will be deleted right away, without moving to the Recycle Bin.
Just select the drive for which you want to disable the Recycle Bin, and select ‘Don’t move files to the Recycle Bin’. After that, click on ‘Apply’ or ‘OK’.
If you want to change the size of the Recycle Bin, select the text box corresponding to ‘Maximum size (MB):’ and type in the size in MB. After that, click on ‘Apply’ or ‘OK’.
Now, repeat the same for all the other drives, if you want to disable it completely, or want to tweak the maximum size of the Windows Bin.
As I already stated earlier, the files could still be recovered by file recovery tools like Recuva or so. If you delete files back to back and hardly use the Recycle Bin, you can disable it on your Windows computer. However, if you have the habit of removing files and folders accidentally, I will recommend you to keep the Recycle Bin enabled so that you can get the files back if you delete them. It is not at all recommended to disable it, but after all, it is something that you should about, and thus, the tutorial.