Giving a new way for its 200 million monthly active users, WhatsApp is rolling out a new feature that allows you to share your location in real-time with family or friends in disasters and crisis situations. WhatsApp Live Location is an end-to-end encrypted feature that lets you control who you share with and for how long. You can choose to stop sharing at any time or let the Live Location timer simply expire. This feature is right now rolled out in some places of the world and soon push globally
Here’s How WhatsApp Live Location works.
Step 1: Open a chat with the person or group you want to share with. Under “Location” in the attach button, there’s a new option to “Share Live Location.”
Step 2: From there, choose how long you want to share and tap send. Each person in the chat will be able to see your real-time location on a map. And if more than one person shares their Live Location in the group, all locations will be visible on the same map.
Step 3: Each person in the chat will be able to see your real-time location on a map. And if more than one person shares their Live Location in the group, all locations will be visible on the same map.
Live Location is available on both Android and iPhone and will be rolling out in the app in the coming weeks.
Earlier this year, WhatsApp announced creative text-based status updates. The new feature is available on iPhone and Android phones. Users can also view Status updates on WhatsApp for the web.
Whether you are looking for vacation recommendations or notifying a group about the address for a party, the text-based status feature allows you to update your contacts in a fun and personal way. Users can also customise text statuses and can choose a specific font and background color, or include links.
With the new update users’ can also control who can see their Status update. In WhatsApp’s privacy settings, there is an option to select the handful of people who will receive your update. You can select from the following three options: “my contacts,” “contacts except…” and “only share with…”
The messaging service supports 60 languages globally and over 4.5 billion photos are shared on the platform every day.